Our Governors

Dear Parents/Carers & Visitors,

The Governing Body at Cedars Primary School are delighted and proud of  the way in which the school is managing the delivery of education. The care for the pupils and staff is evident in everything our dedicated staff team do.

Mrs Kate Warren Chair of Governors

Our Governors

  • Mrs Kate Warren  — Chair of Governors
  • Mrs Julie Eldridge — Vice Chair
  • Mr Paul Wilson — Co-opted Governor
  • Mr James Etherton — Parent Governor
  • Mrs Cate Colborn — Parent Governor
  • Mrs Claire McGarragh — Co-opted Governor
  • Mrs Leanne Briers — Staff Governor
  • Mrs Joanne Goldsmith — Headteacher

Our Governing Body

So what does this mean?

A Governing Body has the responsibility for ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; overseeing the financial performance of the school; and making sure its money is well spent.

How is this done?

At Cedars the Governing Body meets once a term in full but most of the work is carried out in two main committees, the Teaching and Learning Committee, and the Resources Committee. These groups meet at least once a term with additional meetings held as required.

Governors at Cedars also do much more than this. They can be regular visitors to school, help out in class and be present at school events. They also bring a wealth of life and relevant professional experience from their different personal and career backgrounds, often helping with specific projects and initiatives.

Our Governing Body is made up of:

Parent Governors

Elected by Parents

Staff Representatives

Elected by School Staff

Local Authority Governors

Appointed by Local Authority

Co-opted Governors

Appointed by the Governing Body

The Headteacher

Meet the Governors

James Etherton // Parent Governor

Learn More

Leanne Briers // Staff Governor

Learn More

Paul Wilson // Co-opted Governor

Learn More

Julie Eldridge // Co-opted Governor

Learn More

Claire McGarragh // Co-opted Governor

Learn More

Cate Colborn // Parent Governor

Learn More

Kate Warren // Local Authority Governor

Learn More

Meeting Attendance 2022-2023

Governors Meetings